About The Tarot

Fortune Telling Tarot Cards

Five of Cups

Visconti-Sforza Tarot (Cary-Yale 1466): Five of Cups

Cups are also referred to as chalices and may be represented by religious grails or goblets. They correspond to the playing card suit of Hearts. This suit represents the element Water, and the social class of Clergy. Cups are considered a Feminine suit. Cups typically represent emotions, love, and spiritual beliefs.

The Fives typically concern negatives such as loss, conflict, strife, struggle, disagreement, disappointment, defeat, sorrow, regrets, and unwilling or unnecessary contributions. Fives may also represent change, renewal, positive struggle, amassing or consolidating forces, and progress.

Loss. Regret. Disappointment. Despair. Bereavement.

This card often carries the meaning of emotional dejection, disappointment, grief, or sorrow over past events, particularly over relationships or spiritual matters. There may be a tendency to cry over spilt milk. It can also represent the failure to see the good in a given situation.

Reversed Meaning: Moving on. Acceptance. Forgiveness.

This card can indicate that the questioner is moving on from sorrow and bereavement. The sun is starting to show through the clouds.